Bulldog athletes honored at Sports Banquet

The Marlin Athletic Booster Club recently hosted the Marlin ISD Sports Banquet, May 16, at the Pavilion at The City Park. Despite the numerous heavy downpours throughout the day, over one hundred supporters were in attendance.

After dinner  provided by the Booster Club, High School & Middle School certificates were presented. 

Trophies were awarded in the following categories: Football MVP - 7th grade - Daquan Evans, 8th grade - Omari Cleveland; Volleyball: CO-A Team MVP - Gelena Diaz, CO-A Team MVP - Ryan Edwards, B Team MVP - Alayzia Johnson. Boys Basketball: 7th grade MVP - Demetrius Garrett, 8th grade MVP - Keiran Butler; Girls Basketball-7th grade MVP - Baylee Bluitt, 8th grade MVP - Ashanti Outland. Track & Field: Boy MVP - DaQuan Evans, Girl MVP - Dezxiranyie Cooper; 8th Grade - Boy MVP - Caymen Smith, Girl MVP - Ja’Myia Landrum.

Special awards were recognized with plaque presentations: Fighting Heart Award: 7th grade Girl - Baylee Bluitt, Boy - DaQuan Evans, 8th grade Girl - Ryan Edwards, Boy Jalyn Workman; Academic Bulldog Award - 7th Grade Girl - Skyylar Thomas, Boy - Jaidon Brooks, 8th grade Girl - De’Zyre Davis, Boy - Jayleon Jordan; Football MVP - Brysen Steele, Offensive MVP - Mario Hopwood, Defensive MVP - Je’Mere Hartsfield and Newcomer of the Year - Ge’Unte Thomas. Volleyball: Miss Volleyball - Keundra Wilson, Offensive MVP - Aarihanna Johnson, Defensive MVP - Aarya Johnson and Manager of the Year - Armoni Armstead. Boys Basketball Most Valuable Player - Aarik Smith Shelley, Offensive MVP - Jaidan Womack, Defensive MVP - Jerry Willis Jr., and Bulldog Award - Jacorian Johnson; Girls Basketball: MVP Kya Mitchell, Offensive - Shawna Robinson, Defensive - Arhaya Johnson, Most Improved - Kiki Wilson and Lady Bulldog Pride - Shariya Womack.

Soccer Recognitions included: MVP - Christopher Sanchez, Offensive MVP - Eric Ramos-Diaz, Defensive MVP - Caden Thomas-Judie, Marcos Landeros, and Most Improved - Alejandro Knox. 

Keundra Wilson was recognized as Performer of the Year (Most Valuable) and Track Athlete of the Year in Girls Track & Field. She was described as the 2-A fastest girl in the State of Texas. 

In addition, Field Athlete of the Year was Saniya Suiters and Newcomer of the Year-Natalie Flores. Boys Track and Field Superlatives were Performer of the Year (Most Valuable Player) - I ‘Aire Kee, Track Athlete of the Year - Keyshaun Massington, Field Athlete of the Year - Braden Maxwell-Steele and Newcomer of the Year - De’Angelo Wright.

The 2023-2024 Marlin ISD Athletic Department, consisting of William Ealy, Niki Edwards, Jesse Bustamante, Sonja Holtzclaw, Ortega McDavid and Lesley Sanders, were  praised for their leadership and commitment to the students. Marlin Athletic Booster Club Board members are Dr. John Barrett, Jay Elliott, Christina Kaufman, Michael Magouirk, Debra Levels-McDavid, Elizabeth Richardson, Pam Richardson and Helen Woodson.

The Marlin Democrat

251 Live Oak St
Marlin, TX 76661
Phone: (254) 883-2554
Fax:(254) 883-6553