County Health Emergency Extended
During their meeting on Monday, March 23, the Falls County Commissioners voted to extend the Proclamation of Local Disaster For Public Health Emergency, until further notice.
According to Texas Government Code § 418.108. Declaration of Local Disaster, A declaration of local disaster declared by a county judge may not be continued or renewed for a period of more than seven days unless consent is given by the governing body of the political subdivision or otherwise addressed in the declaration.
For Falls County, the commissioners court is that governing body, therefore they were required to approve the extension, lest it expire before the virus has passed.
Extending the length of the proclamation does not change the contents of the March 21 proclamation, which include:
- No social gatherings of more than 10 people
- All public and private schools are closed
- Minors are subject to a 9 p.m. curfew unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
- Bars and restaurants must operate by take away service.
Violation of the disaster proclamation may be punishable by a fine no more than $1,000 or imprisonment for no more than 180 days, under Section 418.173 of the Texas Government Code.
When presented with the information by Judge Jay Elliott, Commissioner F.A. Green made the motion to accept the extension, seconded by Nita Wuebker, who telecommuted to the meeting via phone. The motion carried unanimously.